• 2017 SCPS Division Teacher of the Year 
    Melanie Russ, 4th Grade Teacher at Cedar Forest Elementary School 
    Melanie Russ, 2017 SCPS Teacher of the Year  

    Congratulations to Our Distinguished Teachers of the Year for 2016-2017


    Battlefield ES - Alina Kuzel, Speech/Language Pathologist
    Berkeley ES - Ashley Anderson, 2nd Grade Teacher
    Brock Road ES - Helen Kilinski, Special Education Teacher
    Cedar Forest ES - Melanie Russ, 4th Grade Teacher
    Chancellor ES - Barbara Christy, 4th Grade Teacher
    Courthouse Road ES - Stephen Brazelle, 5th Grade Teacher
    Courtland ES - Aaron Johnson, ITRT
    Harrison Road ES - Kristen Parsley, 4th Grade Teacher
    Lee Hill ES - Tammy Bottomley, Reading Specialist
    Livingston ES - Joanne Saar, 4th Grade Teacher
    Parkside ES - Ali Knighting, Special Education Teacher
    Riverview ES - Vincent Inman, Special Education Teacher
    Robert E Lee ES - Melissa Zovak, Kindergarten Teacher
    Salem ES - Amanda Caple, Librarian
    Smith Station ES - Jennifer Darmsteadt, 2nd Grade Teacher
    Spotswood ES - Jessica Konigsbauer, 5th Grade Teacher
    Wilderness ES - Brigette Gipson, 5th Grade Teacher

    Battlefield MS - Michael Kartson, 8th Grade Math Teacher
    Chancellor MS - Debra Horner, 6th Grade Math Teacher
    Freedom MS - Lisa Jones, SCOPE Teacher
    Ni River MS - Mary Hardy, 6th Grade Math Teacher
    Post Oak MS - Megan Stiffler, 6th Grade Social Studies Teacher
    Spotsylvania MS - Maura LaVoy, HPE Teacher
    Thornburg MS - Matthew Conners, 7th Grade Social Studies Teacher

    Chancellor HS - Matthew Armentrout, Theatre Arts Teacher
    Courtland HS - Jayne Redelman, Special Education Teacher
    Massaponax HS - Megan Marshall, Journalism Teacher
    Riverbend HS - John Moore, Special Education Teacher
    Spotsylvania HS - Josh Federkeil, Spanish Teacher

    Spotsylvania CTC - Susan “Dawn” D’Addio, Health & Medical Sciences Teacher
    John J Wright ECC/Courthouse Academy - Ben Stewart, Special Education Teacher


    Each year, Spotsylvania County Public Schools participates in the Teacher of the Year program coordinated statewide through the Virginia Department of Education. All public and accredited nonpublic schools are able to participate in the Virginia Teacher of the Year Program to honor teachers who represent the best in teaching in Spotsylvania County Public Schools, the Commonwealth of Virginia, and across the nation. For more than 40 years, Virginia has participated in the National Teacher of the Year Program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers. The program is open to all teachers in pre-kindergarten through grade 12 who possess a current, renewable Virginia teaching license, including school librarians, guidance counselors, and reading specialists. The Human Resources Department coordinates this process with our site principals. From this group of nominees, the Division Teacher of the Year is selected. In the spring, we announce and recognize the New Teachers of the Year from the elementary, middle, and high schools levels, and the Mentor Teachers of the Year from elementary, middle, and high school.