Spotlight on SCPS Music Department

  • Our Blue Ribbon Schools of Music

    Congratulations to Freedom Middle School, Courtland High School, and Riverbend High School and their music directors for earning the designation of a Blue Ribbon School for 2019. This is the highest honor for a music department in the Commonwealth of Virginia. We would like congratulate the music directors!  Freedom Middle Schools music directors are Lisa Dobyns  (orchestra), Christopher Hoovler  (band), Katherine Preseren  (chorus); Courtland High School music directors are Valarie Acors  (chorus), Katie Black (orchestra), Donald Leonard (band), and Riverbend High School music directors are Wendy Green (chorus), Alison Rolf (band), and Zachary Wadsworth (band).


  • Recognition:

    Congratulations to Ryan Addair, the band director at Chancellor High School.  He finished his coursework for his Master's Degree at the American Band College this past summer, and while there with approximately 200 of the top band directors from around the United States, he was chosen as the top student and given the Conn-Selmer VIP award.  Three weeks ago Ryan represented Spotsylvania County at the Conn-Selmer VIP Day. Conn-Selmer flew him to Indiana on an all-expense paid trip to tour the instrument manufacturing facilities, attend leadership seminars, and network with some of the most influential executives in the music education industry.  

Conn-Selmer VIP Award Winner - Ryan Addair